[Skip to Content]

Home sweet home - Line Vittrup

I live in an apartment (co-op), which I bought in 2008. It is quite an old building though it was completely renovated in 2006. It is located in Frederiksbjerg, which is a beautiful area very close to downtown Aarhus.

Name: Line Vittrup
Age: 29
Occupation: Director of Vittrup Kommunikation

What do you love about your apartment or house?
That it is a mix of an old building, but with modern appliances. I am a sucker for a bit of history. Also, I have a fabulous balcony on the south side of the building, which I very much enjoy on sunny days.

What is your favourite room? And why? What do you do in the room?
I guess the balcony. It really is like an extra room during spring, summer and on the good days in autumn. We Danes love the outdoors, so having this option is amazing. I can spend entire days out there either relaxing, eating, having friends over for drinks or even working. I’m a self-employed and have my own company (Vittrup Kommunikation), which allows me the flexibility to move my office outside whenever the weather permits it.

Balcony

What do you think your friends think about your home?
My friends often compliment me on my ability to make my homes cosy (hyggelige). I have lived in many different places, so I’ve often had to rethink the way I wanted to live. Luckily, I love design and especially interior design, so every chance I get to move things around or do some DIY’ing then I will do it.

Living room
Living room

What would you change if you won a one million kr. Change your apartment/house?
I would probably stay in my apartment, and do some small renovations and pay off some debts. Then I would go and buy myself a Charles Eames lounge chair. That is my all time favourite, and a million in winnings or not, I will own that chair one day. It is the perfect combination of design and usability – you can actually sit and relax in the chair! In my opinion too often designers care more about design than comfort.

What is your dream house?
My dream home would be to buy an old house and completely renovate it, but to makes sure I kept some of its “soul” but bring it up to 21st century standards.

What do people (friends and family) say when they visit your home?
That it is hyggeligt! They feel at home.

Describe the area that you live in? Close to countryside or near a town?
I live very close to the local parks, beaches and to the city life of downtown Aarhus. There is also a big farmers market every Wednesday and Saturday just outside my front door which is fantastic.

Why you have you chosen to live here?
I love the area. I like being close to the city and yet still close to nature.

How would you describe a normal weekday? What is your routine?
As I have my own company, no two days are the same. Some days I am in Copenhagen, working for clients, other times I go to my office in downtown Aarhus. And occasionally I get to travel abroad for work. Over the last two years I have been to Mexico, USA and Spain, which is a great perk as I do like to travel.

How do you spend your weekends?
Again, they differ a lot. But usually I work a bit (I’m never off work). Then I like to spend time with family and friends, going out to dinner. I’m still working on doing-absolutely-nothing, but I haven’t quite figured out how to do that just yet. Must be an occupational hazard!

What is favourite hobby or pastime?
When I do manage to take some time off, I like reading magazines or blogs on interior design and DIY. Running or going to the gym is also a regular pastime.


Office/dining room

Office/Dining room

January 2012

RSSBlogging Denmark

After a period of silence in which I've been extremely busy and not inspired at all, I'm back – at [...]
Natalia
This is the beginning collage about my Danish grandfather, A. C. Larsen, I put together for the 125th anniversary of [...]
Scott Larsen
Friday morning, 3:00AM, an alarm set on my phone sounds to tell my partner and me that we have to [...]
Dan Woolley
Blogs about Denmark